Skip to main content

CSE Recognizes Inspirational Teachers

inspirational teachers dinner 2009Each year, we invite our UW Computer Science & Engineering undergraduates to identify “influential teachers” who shaped their careers prior to arriving at UW.  We host a dinner for the teachers, their guests, and the students who nominated them.  There are three goals:  to honor these life-changing teachers, to reacquaint them with their highly successful students, and (crassly) to get them to send us more great students.

This year’s dinner was held on June 3rd.  Photos (taken by our own Bruce Hemingway) from the event may be viewed here.  (Select “Inspirational Teacher Dinner-2009” in the upper left.)  Information regarding past nominees may be found here.

Congratulations to the teachers recognized this year!!

  • Michael Angelidis, Kentwood High School
  • Janet Ash, Green River Community College
  • Sue Black, Inglemoor High School
  • Paul Bladek, Edmonds Community College
  • Jeremy Brown, Newport High School
  • Rachel Wade Brown, Edmonds Community College
  • Dan Cerquitella, James A. Garfield High School
  • Tim Crowder, Juanita High School
  • Christine Donaldson, Kentwood High School
  • Jay Elder, Olympia High School
  • Kathy Ellingson, Shorecrest High School
  • Rick Haag, Tahoma High School
  • Dale Hoffman, Bellevue College
  • Bryan Johns, Seattle Central Community College
  • James Kirk, Edmonds-Woodway High School
  • Bill Lemei, Coronado High
  • François Lepeintre, Seattle Central Community College
  • Jennie Mayer, Bellevue College
  • Kim McClung, Kent-Meridian High School
  • Paul McMillen, John F. Kennedy Memorial High School
  • Alec McTavish, Bothell High School
  • Dr. Paul Muckerheide, Oliver M. Hazen High School
  • Jaime Roberts-Jones, Edmonds-Woodway High School
  • Jan Sayers, Mercer Island High School
  • Jan Stuckey, Olympia High School
  • Daniel Velasquez, Southridge High School