Skip to main content

UW CSE’s Susan Eggers elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Susan-Eggers-ISCAUW CSE professor Susan Eggers has been elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, as a member of the Class of 2013.

The Academy was founded during the American Revolution by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock, and other leaders who contributed prominently to the establishment of the new nation, its government, and its Constitution. Its purpose was to provide a forum for a select group of scholars, members of the learned professions, and government and business leaders to work together on behalf of the democratic interests of the republic.

Election to the Academy is of comparable prestige to NAS, NAE, and IoM, but the membership is more broad, including the humanities and arts, public affairs, and business as well as the mathematical, physical, biological, and social sciences.  Fifty six University of Washington faculty members are Fellows of the Academy, including CSE’s Ed Lazowska.

Others elected this year in the Computer Sciences section:  Anant Agarwal (MIT), David Dill (Stanford), Jitendra Malik (Berkeley), Peter Norvig (Google), Jen Rexford (Princeton), and Richard Tapia (Rice).

Also elected this year from the University of Washington:  Randy Moon (Pharmacology).

The full list of newly-elected Fellows of the Academy is available here.