Skip to main content

UW CSE’s Irene Zhang, Nell O’Rourke win Google Anita Borg Memorial Scholarships

irene-newUW CSE Ph.D. students Irene Zhang and Nell O’Rourke have received 2015 Google Anita Borg Memorial Scholarships.

Irene works with professors Hank Levy and Arvind Krishnamurthy in the Computer Systems Lab.

Nell works with professor Zoran Popovic in the Center for Game Science.

The scholarship supports women in computing and encourages them to follow in Dr. Anita Borg’s footsteps by serving as leaders and role models in the field. In addition to collecting a financial award, Irene and her fellow scholars will have the opportunity to participate in a retreat at the Google headquarters in Mountain View, California in June.

nellLearn more about the scholarship and Dr. Borg’s extraordinary contributions to computer science here.

Past scholarship winners at UW CSE include Jenny Abrahamson and Nicki Dell in 2012, Janara Christensen and Katie Kuksenok in 2011, Lydia Chilton and Kristi Morton in 2010, Saleema Amershi in 2009, and Julie Letchner and Kate Everitt in 2008.

Congratulations, Irene and Nell!