Skip to main content

A necessary conversation: Social Impact Award winner Jennifer Mankoff inspires the SIGCHI community to take a more expansive view of inclusion

Jennifer Mankoff

Eight years ago, Allen School professor Jennifer Mankoff and a group of like-minded researchers who cared about, or needed, accessibility put their heads together after coming to a realization about SIGCHI, the Association for Computing Machinery’s Special Interest Group on Computer-Human Interaction. While a growing swath of researchers in the community had begun to focus… Read more

May 17, 2022

Allen School’s Husky 100 honorees combine academic excellence and service to build a more equitable and inclusive society

Display of gold and purple enamel lapel pins in the shape of "W" with "Husky 100" underneath on a white tablecloth

One is defying traditional gender-based norms through her choice of career path while making it easier for her peers to do the same. Another was motivated to turn tragedy into triumph and dedicate his research to making the world more accessible to people with disabilities. And still others are working to unlock the mysteries of… Read more

May 11, 2022

Apple Scholar in AI/ML Venkatesh Potluri advances artificial intelligence for accessible UI design that empowers developers as well as users

Venkatesh sitting at a black table with hands folded with a candid smile and a grey hat. The sofa is bright yellow and the wall is black and white pattern.

“Nothing about us without us.” That statement has become a rallying cry for people with disabilities to ensure they have a direct voice in shaping the policies and conditions that, in turn, shape their access to employment, education, and lately, technology. With the growing proliferation of human-centered applications powered by artificial intelligence, it has become… Read more

May 9, 2022

Allen School’s Sewon Min is taking natural language processing to the next level to tackle real-world problems

Portrait of Sewon Min

When Sewon Min first arrived at the University of Washington as an exchange student in the fall of 2016, little did she know how those three months would change the course of her academic career. After completing a brief stint as an undergraduate research assistant under the guidance of Allen School professors Hannaneh Hajishirzi and… Read more

April 27, 2022

Goldwater Scholar Alex Mallen aims to make sense of the world — and make a positive impact — through research in beneficial AI

Portrait of Alex Mallen with autumn leaves in background

When he was a student in high school, computer science major Alex Mallen had what he describes as a “rough” introduction to research. Fortunately, the Bellevue, Washington, native didn’t let that experience deter him at the University of Washington, where as a freshman he decided to try again as a step toward pursuing a Ph.D…. Read more

April 12, 2022

With CoAI, UW researchers demonstrate how predictive AI can benefit patient care — even on a budget

Two masked and gloved emergency services professionals moving gurney with person prone under blanket near open door to helicopter

Artificial intelligence tools have the potential to become as essential to medical research and patient care as centrifuges and x-ray machines. Advances in high-accuracy predictive modeling can enable providers to analyze a range of patient risk factors to facilitate better health care outcomes — from preventing the onset of complications during surgery, to assessing the… Read more

April 11, 2022

NLP for all: Professor and 2022 Sloan Research Fellow Yulia Tsvetkov is on a quest to make natural language tools more equitable, inclusive and socially aware

Less than a year after her arrival at the University of Washington, professor Yulia Tsvetkov is making her mark as the newest member of the Allen School’s Natural Language Processing group. As head of the Tsvetshop — a clever play on words that would likely stymie your typical natural language model — Tsvetkov draws upon… Read more

April 4, 2022

Allen School and AI2 researchers paint the NeurIPS conference MAUVE and take home an Outstanding Paper Award

NeurIPS logo graphic

Recent advances in open-ended text generation could enable machines to produce text that approaches or even mimics that generated by humans. However, evaluating the quality and accuracy of these large-scale models has remained a significant computational challenge. Recently, researchers at the Allen School and Allen Institute for AI (AI2) offered a solution in the form… Read more

February 28, 2022

Allen School’s Luke Zettlemoyer elected Fellow of the Association for Computational Linguistics for expanding the frontiers of natural language processing

Portrait of Luke Zettlemoyer

Luke Zettlemoyer, a professor in the Allen School’s Natural Language Processing group and a research director at Meta AI, was recently elected a Fellow of the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL) for “significant contributions to grounded semantics, semantic parsing, and representation learning for natural language processing.” Since he arrived at the University of Washington in… Read more

February 23, 2022

Allen School undergraduates recognized by the Computing Research Association for advancing health sensing, programming languages and systems research

W statue in sunshine

The Allen School has a proud tradition of nurturing undergraduate student researchers whose work has the potential for real-world impact. This year, three of those students — Jerry Cao, Mike He and Yu Xin — earned honorable mentions from the Computing Research Association (CRA) as part of its 2022 Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Awards competition for… Read more

February 22, 2022

« Newer PostsOlder Posts »