Jump to Navigation


UW CSE Ph.D. alum Gary Kildall to be honored by IEEE on Friday

GK_ONeal-542x761-213x300On Friday, 1972 UW CSE Ph.D. alum Gary Kildall will be honored by IEEE with a “Milestones in Electrical Engineering and Computing” plaque at the site of his company Digital Research Inc. in Pacific Grove, CA.

Kildall’s CP/M was the first microcomputer operating system, and the dominant OS throughout the 1970s and early 1980s, until Microsoft purchased QDOS (a CP/M lookalike) from UW CSE bachelors alum Tim Paterson and licensed it to IBM as MS-DOS.

Seattle Times article here.  UW CSE News post with multiple links to background material here.

April 23, 2014

CSE’s Brandon Lucia, David Balatero are netcat: “Cycles Per Instruction”

a2518472733_2UW CSE Ph.D. alum Brandon Lucia and bachelors alum David Balatero are 2/3′s of the band netcat.  Brandon writes:

“We use lots of computers in our band so we released our album as a working Linux kernel module (as well as digital and cassette).  Various social media + Internet personalities (Hacker News, Reddit, jwz.org, twitter, Greg Kroah-Hartman, Dan Kaminski, etc.) all nodded to it.   In fact gregkh, the maintainer of Linux-stable, has contributed 2 patches!  It’s still on pg 1 of Hacker News this evening and we’ve gotten thousands of new people listening as a result!”

April 23, 2014

Jeff Heer’s “Semantically Resonant Colors” in Harvard Business Review

semantic-colorsWork by UW CSE professor Jeff Heer and his students is featured in Harvard Business Review.

The idea is that concepts are much more readily grasped if colors in visualizations are chosen with an eye to “semantic relevance” or “semantic resonance” – the idea that the color is related in some way to the concept being depicted.

Harvard Business Review article here.  Research web page here.

April 23, 2014

Vote for Oren Etzioni as GeekWire’s “Hire of the Year”

Today’s categwagory in the annual GeekWire Awards:  “Hire of the Year.”

One of the candidates:  long-time UW CSE professor Oren Etzioni, hired by Paul Allen to lead the new Allen Institute for Brain Science.

Vote early and often!  Ballot here.

While you’re at it, don’t forget to vote for CSE’s Ambient Backscatter as GeekWire’s “Innovation of the Year” – information (and other recommendations) here.

April 23, 2014

Remembering David Notkin

photo(3)photo(4)David Notkin – UW CSE’s department chair from 2001-06 and holder of the Warren Francis and Wilma Kolm Bradley Endowed Chair in Computer Science & Engineering – passed away one year ago today, on April 22 2013.

Today David’s tombstone was unveiled at a ceremony attended by many of his family, friends and colleagues – followed by an expedition to watch the Seattle Mariners, a franchise that inexplicably managed to earn David’s loyalty, lose their 8th straight.

See a lovely tribute from UW CSE alumnus Wayne Yamamoto here.

April 22, 2014

CSE’s Shiri Azenkot wins 2014 UW Graduate School Medal

shiriShiri Azenkot, a UW CSE Ph.D. student who is completing her studies with CSE professor Richard Ladner and iSchool professor (and CSE Adjunct professor) Jake Wobbrock, has been selected to receive the 2014 University of Washington Graduate School Medal.

The Graduate School awards the Medal “to recognize Ph.D. candidates whose academic expertise and social awareness are integrated in a way that demonstrates an exemplary commitment to the University and its larger community.”

Shiri’s research concerns eyes-free text input on mainstream mobile devices using gestures and speech. Her goal is to enable blind people to use mainstream mobile devices as effectively and efficiently as sighted people. As a secondary pursuit, she explores how mainstream technology can enable blind and deaf-blind people to travel more independently.

Shiri is the fourth CSE Ph.D. student to receive the Graduate School Medal.  CSE’s Yaw Anokwa received the 2011 Graduate School Medal.  CSE’s Anna Cavender received the 2010 Graduate School Medal.  CSE’s Vibha Sazawal received the 2004 Graduate School Medal.

Congratulations Shiri!  Learn more about her work here.


April 21, 2014

Georg Seelig wins ONR Young Investigator Award

spr10_seelig240xGeorg Seelig, UW CSE+EE professor, is one of 24 “early-career academic researchers whose scientific pursuits show exceptional promise for supporting the Department of Defense” named recipients of 3-year Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Awards.

Over the years, research by ONRYI recipients has led to breakthroughs in nanoscience, fiber-laser systems, ultrafast optoelectronic devices and more.  This year’s 24 recipients were selected from a pool of roughly 280 candidates.

Georg’s research is focused on understanding how biological organisms process information using complex biochemical networks and how such networks can be engineered to program cellular behavior. Circuit elements engineered from DNA and RNA components are being applied to problems in disease diagnostics and therapy.  Learn more here.

Georg is the ninth UW CSE faculty member to receive an ONR YI Award. He also continues the remarkable record of faculty hired under the ExCEL joint recruiting effort by UW CSE and EE:  Shwetak Patel, Georg, Josh Smith, and most recently Matt Reynolds.

Congratulations Georg!

April 21, 2014

Vote for UW’s Ambient Backscatter for GeekWire’s “Innovation of the Year”

Awards0GWA_banners_300x250-02-300x249It’s that time of year again – the GeekWire Awards.

UW’s Ambient Backscatter is one of five finalists for “Innovation of the Year.”  Vote early and often!

Here’s the ballot.

Learn more about Ambient Backscatter here.

In other award categories:  Rover.com, co-founded by Madrona’s Greg Gottesman, is a finalist for Startup of the Year.

Sarah Bird of Moz, a finalist for CEO of the Year, was kind enough to participate in a nifty KIRO TV video sponsored by UW CSE.

April 18, 2014

CSE Ph.D. alum Donald Chinn wins 2014 UW Distinguished Teaching Award

ChinnUW CSE Ph.D. alum Donald Chinn, an Associate Professor in UW-Tacoma’s Institute of Technology, is one of seven winners of 2014 University of Washington Distinguished Teaching Awards.

Donald will be recognized at the Awards of Excellence ceremony on June 12 – along with UW CSE professor Gaetano Borriello, who will receive the Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award.

Congratulations Donald!


April 18, 2014

UW CSE Ph.D. alum Noah Snavely wins PECASE award

Noah3UW CSE Ph.D. alumnus Noah Snavely, now on the computer science faculty at Cornell University, is one of three computer science recipients of this year’s NSF Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the United States government’s highest honor for scientists and engineers in the early stages of their independent research careers.

Noah, whose Ph.D. advisor was Steve Seitz, was recognized “For innovative research in developing new computer-vision algorithms for scalable 3-D reconstruction; camera location estimation from diverse unknown cameras; and innovations in STEM education.”

Read the NSF announcement here.

April 17, 2014

Older Posts »